BeYouBeSure.com

INTERVIEW 8 | Rachel Cohen | Advertising Sales

rachel interview 8

Name: Rachel Cohen*

Age: 25

Ethnicity: Jewish American/Caucasian

Birth Place: Washington, D.C.

Lives In: New York, NY

Education: Bachelor’s Degree in Communication, Minors in Business and Psychology from The Pennsylvannia State University

Main Source of Income: Advertising/Digital Media Sales (175K annually)

“I left my first job at a giant ad agency after four months because I saw my future there, and it wasn’t what I wanted. I wasn’t even sure what I wanted, but I knew that wasn’t it. I made the jump to the start-up world despite the advice of my parents who said it would look terrible on my resume. The company I work at now is intimate. I love not having to deal with the bureaucracy involved with working at a giant corporation. I consider the CEO at my current company my friend. I can walk up to him, ask a question, and get a response immediately. At my old advertising job, it would take weeks to get an answer from the CEO.”

Debt: None

Insurance: Full Health

Passions: Good Movies, Exploring Cities, Fashion, Exotic Food, Travel

Current Question: “How can I be a better version of myself?”

“I’m trying to figure out how to even do this. Of course there are things about myself I want to improve. I’m not very worldly. I have no idea who Yo Yo MA is. I want to be more attuned to what’s happening around me, foreign policy issues and whatnot. Mainly, I want to be more in the moment. I don’t want to fast forward and be old and not even know what happened in my life. I get so caught up in my day to day. I barely realize what I’ve done these past few years since moving to New York City. Time passes by so quickly. I don’t always think about the bigger picture. I don’t know exactly how to go about living in the moment. I’m just starting my journey.”

Biggest Challenge: Living my life for me

“I was insecure growing up. I always cared about what other people would think of me. I always questioned if I was doing what would make my parents proud. In high school, I rebelled from this by trying to act like I didn’t give a shit. I would get into dangerous situations, hang out with fuck ups. In college, I found myself more. Now, I just want to work at finding my center so I can act in situations based on what’s right for me, not what I think this guy wants or this person expects. I think I have a good instinct, but sometimes I’m too scared to follow it. I did when I quit my first job. Thank god I did that.”

*name has been changed due to professional contracts

logoforsite-1

Leave a Reply

